PM: GasGas, AMA Supercross Indianapolis



As the AMA Supercross season moves past the midway point, the action heated up on the 450 side of the Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/GASGAS Factory Racing Team roster, with Justin Barcia challenging for the win on an extremely rough and rutted course.


From the first laps at press day to the checkered flag at the end of the main event, it was obvious that the ruts and soft conditions of the Indy course would prove particularly challenging. But following a solid qualifying effort and an impressive heat race win, there was no doubt that Justin Barcia was looking extremely competitive aboard his MC 450F Factory Edition. In the Main Event, Justin started in the top five and quickly worked his way up to second place. As the laps counted down, he was closing on the leader, but ran out of time, finishing less than a second behind. The runner-up finish moves his back to sixth overall in the series standings.

Justin Barcia:“Great practice, P4, which was awesome. In the heat race I charged hard and got the win which was even more awesome. In the main event I didn’t get a great start, but I charged through the pack and came up to second. It was just some great riding, and the crew did a great job today…the bike was on point. A podium was awesome, and we are looking forward to Detroit.”

250SX East
Michael Mosiman was still feeling the effects of his crash last week in Daytona and opted out of this week’s action. There currently isn’t a timetable for his return to competition.

Next Event (Round 10): March 18, 2023 – Ford Field in Detroit, Mich.

Results – 2023 AMA Supercross Championship, Round Nine

250SX East – Main Event Results

1. Hunter Lawrence (Honda) 21 laps; 2. Nate Thrasher (Yamaha) +07.970; 3. Jordon Smith (Yamaha) +15.288

450SX – Main Event Results

1. Ken Roczen (Suzuki) 27 laps; 2. Justin Barcia (GASGAS) +00.739; 3. Cooper Webb (KTM) +08.852 … 17. Justin Starling (GASGAS)

Championship Standings – After Nine Rounds

250SX East

1. Hunter Lawrence (Honda) 125 points; 2. Max Anstie (Honda) 103;  3. Nate Thrasher (Yamaha) 93 points … 11. Michael Mosiman (GASGAS) 51


1. Cooper Webb (KTM) 202 points; 2. Eli Tomac 201; 3. Chase Sexton (Honda) 189 … 6. Justin Barcia (GASGAS) 155; 21. Justin Starling (GASGAS) 31

Text/Bild: GasGas