PM: GasGas, MXGP of Turkiye



That is a wrap, MXGP fans! The Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing squad completed the 2022 FIM Motocross World Championship today, as the Grand Prix of Turkiye hosted the grand finale at the hard-pack circuit of Afyonkarahisar. Blue skies and big jumps greeted the riders, as well as a strong crowd.

Jorge Prado was just a tick off of the podium today, as a tricky qualifying session meant that he had to make the best of a bad gate pick in the motos. Climbing from the lower half of the top fifteen to seventh was a solid start to the Grand Prix and he managed to go even better than that in the second stint, as he charged into the first corner at the front. Prado was involved in some thrilling battles for a spot in the top three but just missed out and crossed the line in fourth place. 7-4 scores put him in sixth overall on the day. Most importantly, he secured third in the championship standings and was awarded a bronze medal for his efforts.

Jorge Prado: „It was a positive season for me. I am happy to take a medal home! I had a good battle in that second moto, so that was a nice way to end the year. I am starting to feel a lot more like myself again, after my sickness. I had the most holeshots this season, so thank you to my team.“

The Grand Prix of Turkiye was an exciting outing for Mattia Guadagnini, who returned to his strongest level and made his presence known at the front of the pack in the premier division. ‚101‘ was seventh on lap one of the first moto and climbed all of the way to fourth by the time that the checkered flag waved! It was a brilliant effort on his MC 450F. The second moto was just as positive, as he ripped another brilliant start and charged to fifth. 4-5 scores made the Grand Prix of Turkiye a memorable one for him; he was classified in fifth overall.

Simon Langenfelder has enjoyed an extremely consistent term on his MC 250F and capped that off in a fine fashion at today’s Grand Prix of Turkiye. Racing to fifth place in the first MX2 stint, after a brief spell at the head of the field, was a solid way to begin the day, but he was hungry for more when the gates fell for the final time. The second moto was very different for him, even though he took the same result, as he had to charge into the top five from eighth on the opening lap. Unsurprisingly, 5-5 scores left him in fifth overall. ‚516‘ finished third in the championship standings and was awarded a bronze medal at the end of the day.

Mattia Guadagnini: „Today was great! I am really, really happy. I knew that I was capable of this, so I am happy to get a good result for the Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing team. I just enjoyed riding my MC 450F this weekend. I am just so happy. The results were great for me, of course, but the fact that I was enjoying it was most important.”

Simon Langenfelder: „It was nice to end the season with a strong result today. Finishing third in the series is a great accomplishment for me and my team. It shows that we did some really good work in the off-season – a lot changed for me! Thank you to everyone at Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing for all of their support this year.“

Although the 2022 FIM Motocross World Championship is complete, the GASGAS Factory Racing riders still have the Motocross of Nations on their to-do list. Jorge Prado (Team Spain), Mattia Guadagnini (Team Italy) and Simon Langenfelder (Team Germany) will travel to the United States for the very prestigious race.

Results – 2022 FIM Motocross World Championship, Round Eighteen

MXGP – Overall

1. Tim Gajser (Honda) 42pts

2. Jeremy Seewer (Yamaha) 42pts

3. Romain Febvre (Kawasaki) 38pts

5. Mattia Guadagnini (GASGAS) 34pts

6. Jorge Prado (GASGAS) 32pts

MXGP – Moto One

1. Maxime Renaux (Yamaha)

2. Jeremy Seewer (Yamaha)

3. Tim Gajser (Honda)

4. Mattia Guadagnini (GASGAS)

7. Jorge Prado (GASGAS)

MXGP – Moto Two

1. Romain Febvre (Kawasaki)

2. Tim Gajser (Honda)

3. Jeremy Seewer (Yamaha)

4. Jorge Prado (GASGAS)

5. Mattia Guadagnini (GASGAS)

MXGP – Standings

1. Tim Gajser (Honda) 763pts

2. Jeremy Seewer (Yamaha) 657pts

3. Jorge Prado (GASGAS) 589pts

17. Mattia Guadagnini (GASGAS) 204pts

MX2 – Overall

1. Tom Vialle (KTM) 50pts

2. Jago Geerts (Yamaha) 44pts

3. Roan van de Moosdijk (Husqvarna) 38pts

5. Simon Langenfelder (GASGAS) 32pts

MX2 – Moto One

1. Tom Vialle (KTM)

2. Jago Geerts (Yamaha)

3. Kay de Wolf (Husqvarna)

5. Simon Langenfelder (GASGAS)

MX2 – Moto Two

1. Tom Vialle (KTM)

2. Jago Geerts (Yamaha)

3. Roan van de Moosdijk (Husqvarna)

5. Simon Langenfelder (GASGAS)

MX2 – Standings

1. Tom Vialle (KTM) 758pts

2. Jago Geerts (Yamaha) 754pts

3. Simon Langenfelder (GASGAS) 596pts

Text/Bild: GasGas